My little baby isn’t a baby anymore. When did that happen?? I demand someone bring back all he time that has somehow disappeared! Right now!

    Kayla will be three year old in April and this month is finally starting to act like kids her age. Today I was making egg salad sandwiches for lunch and I decided she should come help me. I set her up on the counter and she cracked the first egg, poured in the salt, pepper, and milk and stirred. When she was finished she ran over to daddy and said “I help Momma wif the eggss! I did iiit!” Back in August she couldn’t put two words together, she could barely speak,  she has come so far so fast thanks to the seizure meds. I just can’t believe how fast she is going from a child severely behind her age group to a child just like any other!

    When we met with her Neurologist on the 9th, she decided it was time to get her into some occupational therapy. She wants me to continue the speech therapy as well even though she is doing so well, but the occupational therapy is to catch her up in other areas. I guess kids her age are supposed to be able to remove their own clothes (the only things she can remove is socks) and be able to partially dress themselves which isn’t even close to happening with her. She can’t zip or unzip her zippers or button or unbutton her pants (which I guess her age group should at least be attempting by this age). But she said they should definitely be able to pull up their pants by now, or at least pull them down. Which she can not. It’s not that she lacks the physical capability to do these things, she has never been behind in her motor skills or physical abilities (she can run, jump, climb, hop, crawl like the best of them!), she simply seems like she doesn’t understand why anyone would want to do these things. She just seems to lack the ability to grasp the concept as a whole even after I show her over and over.

    So I am really looking forward to what this occupational therapy will do for her and SUPER excited to see all the new things that she will be able to do. I am a little scared now, though, because my little girl is going to grow up a lot faster than she has been which has already been too fast for me!

    Ava is getting bigger. Not in weight but surely in height. She is 12 lbs 10oz. and she will be five months old on the 23rd. She is in the 75th percentile in height [at 28 inches] and in the 9th percentile in her weight. Sounds scary, huh? Well, doc assured us she is okay, actually almost exactly like her sister and just like her dad; tall and skinny. If she was below the 5th percentile in her weight we would have to worry, but at the moment I am not. She nurses 6-7 times a day not counting at night (although she did sleep through the night one random night last week, but after that she resumed previous schedule of waking mom up at night to eat) and she eats rice cereal once a day and baby food (right now we are only doing squash and bananas) once a day. So I know she is getting PLENTY to eat, if not more than she is supposed to especially since now they are recommending once again to hold off feeding babies anything but breast milk until 6 months (rubbish, my child would starve to death) and I have no clue when they will make up their minds. 

    It’s bizarre to have a baby that is so completely aware and interactive with her surroundings. I guess I always assumed the way Kayla was was normal compared to other babies but that was just because she was my first baby and I didn’t know what things were supposed to be like. Now that Ava is here I always assume she is some sort of genius because at four months old she can hold her teething keys and shake and investigate them like it’s nothing. Turns out that is normal baby stuff. I’m just used to everything happening at least 6 months late because of Kayla. I think I am getting the hang of it though.

    Not too much longer and I know Kayla will be completely caught up with other children her age. She just needs a little extra push. I am so proud of her! I already think she is the smartest baby little girl in the world and it will always be that way, no matter what! ♥ ♥

