Today was Kayla’s evaluation for occupational therapy. We have had so much grief with referrals, primary care doctors and insurance I was glad to just have it over with. Now we have to wait for them to “score” her evaluation and submit it to the insurance to see if they’ll cover it. Ugghh.

She loved going though, she got to color and play with blocks. OT has now been coined the “fun dodtor.”

She brought her new troll doll with her because she has this new obsession of bringing her toys with her wherever we are going and then making me carry on conversations with them in public. All the toys refer to me as ‘mama’ and they usually want to tell me they are hungry or that they want to go to grama and papa’s house or try to convince me to take them swimming even though it is 60 degrees outside. It must be pretty interesting to see me in the grocery store telling a troll doll, “I’m sorry but we only go over to grandma and papa’s house on the weekends but I will be more than happy to take you on Saturday.”

At the doctors office, Kayla forgot her Troll doll in the waiting room while we went back into the office for her Eval. When we came out I had to finish filling out some forms so we sat in the waiting room for a while, during which Hubby noticed that Troll doll was entertaining another child waiting in the waiting room. It was no big deal, Kayla was playing with something else and I still had another page to go so I just went back to filling out the paperwork. Not long after that, a woman came out and called the child back for his appointment. We sat there and didn’t say anything (Kayla has SO many toys it wouldn’t make even the slightest difference) but as they were wheeling his stroller back the mom said “Honey, you’ve got to leave that out here for the other kids to play with.” The child set down the toy on the nearest chair and the woman calling them back snapped back “Oh, he can do whatever he wants with that, it’s not ours. We don’t buy toys like that.” After that we had to sneak over, grab he doll and stash it under one of Ava’s blankets. We wouldn’t want to be seen carrying one of those toys.

Am I missing something? It’s a doll.

When we got home we had lunch (I’m not even going to tell you what because it was so deliciously good and so deliciously bad for you I cannot even say it out loud.)

Okay, it was KFC. But damn it has been so long since we got KFC and it is so tasty. I just worry that my arteries are clogging up as we speak.

Once we had eaten it was time for nap time and since my husband works nights we decided to all take a nap together (which never happens, so it was totally awesome). Ava, however had other plans and decided she was going to be a fuss bucket and kept whacking me and hubby in the face. I could tell she was tired, but she just kept fighting it and fighting it unil it dawned on me; she wasn’t wearing her favorite jammies! These jammies. I don’t know what it is about those fleece jammies but she refuses to sleep AT ALL without them. I keep the heat at 74 in our apartment (I know, I’m not doing my share with the energy crisis! Sorry! I have two small children and a husband that is like 130 lbs. He is like a chihuahua, if I turn the heat down to 72 he will shiver and shake until I feel sorry enough for him that I go turn it up.) So I know she can’t be cold! She just loves those jammies! After I put them on her it took about 2 minutes for her to pass out completely. I’m talking like 120 seconds people. I have to solicit my mom for the remaining two pairs she told me she would make. If you’ve got small children, I suggest you do the same. They will sleep like, well….babies.

