I have never liked country. I grew up listening to Boston, Journey, The Eagles, Steve Miller Band, Heart and things to that matter.

I am very much a rock girl, brought up by rock parents. My dad’s favorite band ever was Pink Floyd and has been listening to it since I can remember. My favorite bands encompass that of Nirvana, Tool, Nine Inch Nails, Bush, etc. This may seem odd to a lot of you, but I am only 23. My parents were young parents as well, I doubt if my mom would like me sharing her age with all of internetland so I’ll let you do the math. She had her first kid when she was 21…that kid was me.

…I have a dirty confession. About a year ago I began listening to *SOME* country.

In private.

With all the doors locked.

I have to admit, some of it isn’t that terrible.

Now, I listen to it every time I clean the house. I think it just motivates me. Nothing against my all time favorite bands but there is nothing chipper or motivational about “I’m so happy. ‘Cause today I found my friends. They’re in my head. I’m so ugly. But that’s ok. ‘Cause so are you. We’ve broke our mirrors.” 

Some country just makes you smile. I kinda like that. Like this video; Craig Morgan’s ‘Little bit of life.’

But I guess I can say that I am a sucker for tear-jerkers. I think it feels good just to have a good cry every now and then and for some reason, this next video does that to me. I bawl like a baby every time. Even if you don’t like country, I recommend watching it. The song is beautiful and it’s worth your time.

Warning: It very well may make you cry. Unless you are nota wuss. Then you’ll be totally unaffected and I’ll look like an ass. Here is Jamie O’Neal’s; ‘Somebody’s Hero.’

Now, just for good measure and so my husband doesn’t kill me, here is one of my favorite songs–It also reminds me the most of my Dad. Pink Floyd’s ‘High Hopes.’

