I love long exposure photos, there is just so much you can mess around with. Sometimes, if you mess around enough, you end up with some pretty crazy pictures. I’ll get to those in a minute.

First, sorry no Thursday 13 this week. We spent most of the morning at the dentist office for Kayla. She needed two fillings in her front two teeth. It was a traumatic morning for the both of us to say the least! Instead of putting her under like some dentists do (which is good because her body never takes that well), this one straps her to a board, straps her hands to her legs, and then her whole body to the board.

It’s pretty much a giant straight jacket for kids.

They would still give her shots to numb her mouth and everything-although they didn’t need to for her since hey were just surface fillings- but it’s simple a way to get them to hold my giant amazon kid still. She has the strength of thirty men. I swear.

I still couldn’t stand watching her. Although I could tell she wasn’t in pain because she screamed the loudest during the part where they were cleaning her teeth with the polisher that [I think] actually feels good, and while they were rinsing her mouth out with the sprayer and suctioning. She calmed down when they were doing the drilling on the surface of her tooth which I thought was the part where she would cry more, but it turned out she was getting quiet because secretly under her straight jacket she was freeing her hands while devising a secret plan to stick that drill in the dentist’s eye. Lucky enough for him, his lovely assistant managed to grab her escaping hand about half a second before it was too late.

After that we took her to Toys ‘r’ Us. We wanted to make up for making her go to the dentist and reward her for being good. Even if she did try to take out the dentist with his own drill. So what, I have the urge to do that every time I go to the dentist as well.

Anyway, there was a lunar eclipse on Wednesday night, for those of you who missed it! It was pretty freaking cool looking! There were so many clouds out there though it was hard to get any pictures. The clouds cleared only twice, so I got what I could. It’s sad that I stood out there in the cold for an hour trying to take pictures of this thing and I only got a couple usable pictures! But not as sucky as it went for my mother, who upon arriving outside; set up her tripod, camera and adjustments, just to find out that her camera was dead. Dead camera = no usable pictures. It was very nice of her to stand out there with me for an hour, complaining about the great shots she was missing keeping me company in the cold.

Here are some of the lunar eclipse shots I got. Like the two.

And one towards the end when the sunlight hit the side of the moon.

As the night progressed I played more with my camera and took various other night shots.

No, I was not the one driving during those pictures!

 

My favorite pictures, however, are the following three. They may not look like much, just some pictures of some hills and all, but the story behind them is actually pretty cool. My husband and I are thinking about moving into another place soon. There is a waiting list for them, which I’m told we will be at the top of next week, and we are seriously debating whether or not to move. We love our place now, it’s big, in a very high class and pretty area of San Diego, and we have lived here for the last two years. We in no way feel cramped (it is a rather large floor plan) but I know we will be very shortly as the children grow. These apartments would add an extra 10-15 minutes to my husbands already annoyingly long commute and would cost us more in rent per month but there would be a third bedroom, 300 extra square footage, beautiful views, in an even nicer area, and we would be living right next to my brother and sister-in-law, which would be really cool.

After I shot those pictures of the lunar eclipse and hung out for a while at my parents house, we headed for home, but decided to drive an extra 12 minutes out of our way to drive by our potential new home. We decided to drive up the road from them to see what else was around it and when we got about ¼ of a mile up the road the road ended in this little turn-about. It was 11:30 at night and the kids were asleep in the back so we decided to get out. It was so incredibly dark out there, we couldn’t see city lights or anything. We could barely see the outline of the hills reflecting from the moon. My hubby said,

“Why don’t you take some pictures?”

 “Of what?” I replied. “It’s nothing but dark out here.”

“Leave the shutter open for as long as you can.” He said.

So I did. I couldn’t even tell what I was going to be taking a picture of. I was somewhere I had never been before, in the middle of the night, setting up my tripod. So, I set up my camera and set the shutter to say open the longest it could. These were the pictures I got. You would never believe I took these at 11:30 at night, in pitch black.

 

It was pretty crazy to see these come up on my screen when I couldn’t even see what I was taking a picture of, and all I was expecting to see come up on the screen was darkness.

 

