When I first heard that Bush was asking to pass a tax relief bill to stimulate the economy I was actually rather offended. Not at the tax relief, but at why I was getting it. I was watching BBC News, and they were talking about how he wanted to give it to lower income families because they would be more likely to spend it rather than invest or save the money. My first thought was, ‘Who’s to say that I won’t spend the money wisely? That is definitely stereotyping!’ After only a few moments though, my thoughts had drifted to, ‘Hmm, I wonder what cool stuff I could get with that extra money!’ I then realized that sometimes, just sometimes, stereotyping is right.

We received our tax refund a couple weeks ago, and although it’s not gone, there is a serious chunk missing. Well, I wouldn’t say missing, as I can see it all around me (Haha). Right now I am typing my first post on my new laptop. Not only my new laptop my FIRST laptop.

My husband and I have been living in the past for far too long. Most of the people I know who are close to my age have the following things; A laptop, surround sound or some kind of half-arsed attempt at a home theater system, a gaming console (X-Box, Playstation, or Wii), and an mp3 player (namely an iPod). We don’t have didn’t have any of these things. Nor had we ever had any of these things.

Now, I am not a very materialistic person…no, wait, yes I am. Well, never mind on that statement. Is it a huge deal to be materialistic? Should I be ashamed? I know money doesn’t buy happiness, but does that mean it can’t bring a little simple joy? Or in my case, intense overwhelming joy? The kind of joy that makes me want to scream from my balcony, “HEY! I HAVE A FREAKING NINTENDO WII!” but don’t in fear that someone will come in my house while I am sleeping and swipe it, leaving a note behind saying “Thanks for letting me know!”?

Last night we threw a Wii party. Yes, you heard that right, a Wii party. If there is no such term it doesn’t matter because I just invented it. It’s kind of like a housewarming party, but more like a Wii-warming party. There was delicious food, cooked by my father (thanks for cooking, dad!), Guitar Hero, bowling, and wine and beer for the participating parties. We thoroughly broke in our Wii and we enjoyed every minute of it. My husband mastered Guitar Hero 3 on easy within the first 24 hours (I know there must be a couple of you out there that have mastered, or know someone who has mastered this game on expert and are laughing your butts off at how proud of this fact I sound) but I, however am still struggling through songs trying not to be booed off stage. Sad, but true. We had a great party. I know we are total nerds for being so excited about this, but it’s okay. It feels good to finally have all the cool stuff everyone my age has. Well, at least everyone my age in this ritzy suburb of San Diego I live in, and it feels good to be a nerd.

My Guitar Hero hand hurts and we still have the extra tax relief coming! No, really, we have to spend at least that wisely.

These are funny.

Fake Wii Safety instructions.

You never know, one day you may have the urge to do this with your Wii! They make a lot more sense after you read this postby kotaku.com. Click picture for larger view.

Fake Wii safety instructions

